Counterfeit crop

Jesus put a parable before the crowds: The kingdom of heaven may be compared to a man who sowed good seed in his field. While everybody was asleep his enemy came, sowed darnel all among the wheat, and made off.

When the new wheat sprouted and ripened, the darnel appeared as well. The owner’s servants went to him and said. “Sir, was it not good seed that you sowed in your field? If so, where does this darnel come from?”

“Some enemy has done this,” he answered.

And the servants said, “Do you want us to go and weed it out?”

But he said, “No, because when you weed out the darnel you might pull up the wheat with it. Let them both grow till the harvest; and at harvest time I shall say to the reapers: First collect the darnel and tie it in bundles to be burnt, then gather the wheat into my barn.” Matthew 13 : 24-30

Dear children! I thank you for your prayers and for the love you show toward me. I invite you to decide to pray for my intentions. Dear children, offer novenas, making sacrifices wherein you feel the most bound. I want your life to be bound to me. I am your Mother, little children, and I do not want satan to deceive you for he wants to lead you the wrong way, but he cannot if you do not permit him. Therefore, little children, renew prayer in your hearts, and then you will understand my call and my live desire to help you. Thank you for having responded to my call. Medjugorje message, July 25, 1993

Darnel is a weed that bears close resemblance to wheat. So extensive is the similarity, until the ear appears, that it is known as “false wheat”. It grows plentiful in Syria and Israel.

On real wheat the ears are so heavy that it makes the entire plant droop downward, but darnel, whose ears are light, remains upright.

Wheat will also appear brown when ripe whereas darnel is black.

Darnel also has a characteristic which can lead to poisoned intoxication and death. • wikipedia

Leave a Reply

