Damaged, but not beyond repair…

It happened so suddenly, without any warning. But having missed the bottom two steps on the staircase I ended up in a crumpled heap on the floor in considerable pain and the patellar tendon in my right knee completely ruptured.

Reflecting on how this accident happened I knew instantly the reason. I had simply not looked where I was stepping. Instead, in my excitement at soon seeing my grandson for the first time, my head turned to the doorway of the apartment before I had completed my descent down the staircase. I failed to focus on the steps I was taking. I had allowed myself to become distracted and tumbled to the ground.

Three weeks have past since my fall and my leg will be in plaster for probably another six weeks. This has curtailed my “busyness” and I have had plenty of time to reflect, in hospital and since my return home a week ago.

Today it dawned on me that my physical fall has similarities with the times I fall to temptation and sin. Usually when this happens it is because I have lost focus on what is ahead of me and have allowed myself to become distracted. I have not, so to speak, kept up the ground work and to the straight path, choosing instead to turn my eyes away from the one who calls me to follow him. This is not always deliberate on my part; distractions can come in so many guises. But, invariably, when they do appear on the horizon it isn’t too long before I stumble or fall. In her message below Blessed Mother warns us about following distractions without reflecting on the consequences.

Thankfully, Jesus is always there for the fallen sinner. Thankfully he was also there with the doctors and nurses who took care of me during my time in hospital and with all who have reached out to me since.

Jesus said: “Go back and tell John what you hear and see; the blind see again, and the lame walk, lepers are cleansed, and the deaf hear, and the dead are raised to life and the Good News is proclaimed to the poor, and happy is the man who does not lose faith in me.” Matthew 11 : 4-5

Dear children! I am calling everyone of you to start living in God’s love. Dear children, you are ready to commit sin, and to put yourselves in the hand of satan without reflecting. I call on each one of you to consciously decide for God and against satan. I am your Mother and, therefore, I want to lead you all to perfect holiness. I want each one of you to be happy here on earth and to be with me in Heaven. That is, dear children, the purpose of my coming here and it’s my desire. Thank you for having responded to my call. Medjugorje message, May 25, 1987

Leave a Reply

