Seeking the face of the Lord…

Consider the Lord and his strength; constantly see his face. Remember the wonders he has done, his miracles, the judgments he has spoke. Psalm 104 : 4-5

Dear children, my motherly call, which I direct to you today, is a call of truth and life. My Son, who is life, loves you and knows you in truth. To come to know and to love yourself, you must come to know my Son; to come to know and to love others, you must see my Son in them. Therefore, my children, pray, pray, that you may comprehend and surrender with a spirit that is free, be completely transformed and, in this way, may have the kingdom of heaven in your heart on earth. Thank you. Medjugorje message, July 2, 2010

• Two months ago my daughter gave birth to her first child and my first grandchild – a boy, Tommaso. I was recently blessed to see and hold him for the first time about two weeks ago. Who does he look like? I recognise both his father and mother in his features – and in his temperament. But most of all I recognise that Tommaso is truly a wonderful miracle given by God to our families and to the world.

I often wonder how I can see the beauty and wonder of God in a new-born child, yet sometimes struggle to recognise and love Jesus in those around me. Our Lady is also aware of my weaknesses and sinful defects, yet she chooses instead to focus on the image of her Son in each of us, encouraging us to do the same. But to be able to come to know Jesus in others I am first invited to know myself. This isn’t always an undertaking I am ready for. It can be a lot easier to criticise the weakness in others before I am prepared to recognise my own shortcomings.

But the day I do start to set out on the path of daily conversion will be the day I begin to love myself and so be able, as Our Lady does, to see beyond the shortcomings of those around me and be blessed to see and to love Jesus in them.

I must be prepared to constantly seek his face.

Leave a Reply

