Witnessing with joy…

Jesus made a tour through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the Good News of the kingdom and curing all kinds of diseases and sickness. And when he saw the crowds he felt sorry for them because they were harassed and dejected, like sheep without a shepherd. Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is rich but the labourers are few, so ask the Lord of the harvest to send labourers to his harvest.” Matthew 9 : 35-38

Is it really possible to work for the Lord and be an effective witness without joy in my heart? Can I convey the Good News to others if I do not reflect the promised joy in my own life?

I am not without my burdens and trials, my crosses in life. And sometimes a particular cross can become a burden for others to carry. But I can lighten the load for all concerned if, as St Paul says, I remain joyful in hope, in spirit and in prayer; if I choose to believe in the Good News; if I allow the Good Shepherd to take charge of my life.

As Jesus came among the crowds to proclaim the Good News, so also does his Blessed Mother. She has given witness through her messages and the graces pouring from Medjugorje for the past 29 years, shepherding and always desiring to lead us to her Son Jesus.

She labours with immeasurable love and joy in her heart, a heart that is one with Jesus. She invites all of us to respond and assist with the harvest, but I can only be an effective ‘harvester’ if I am equipped with peace and joy in my own heart.

Dear children! With joy, I call you all to live my messages with joy; only in this way, little children, will you be able to be closer to my Son. I desire to lead you all only to him, and in him you will find true peace and the joy of your heart. I bless you all and love you with immeasurable love. Thank you for having responded to my call. Medjugorje message, June 25, 2010

Work for the Lord with untiring effort and with great earnestness of spirit. Be joyful in hope. Do not give up if trials come; and keep on praying. Romans 12 : 11-12

Leave a Reply

