The Fire of Love

King Ahab called all Israel together and assembled the prophets of Baal on Mount Carmel. Elijah stepped out in front of all the people. “How long” he said “do you mean to hobble first on one leg then on the other? If the Lord is God, follow him, if Baal, follow him” But the people never said a word. Elijah then said to them, “I, I alone, am left as a prophet of the Lord, while the prophets of Baal are four hundred and fifty.” 1 Kings 18 : 20-22

“I have come to you with open arms in order to take you into my embrace, under my mantle. I cannot do so as long as your heart is filled with false glitters and false idols. Clean your heart and allow my angels to sing in it! At that time I will take you under my mantle and I will give you my Son – true peace and happiness. Do not wait, my children! I thank you! ” Medjugorje message, August 2, 2005

• The light that Our Lady calls on us to accept in her latest message to Mirjana on June 2, is not the glittering false light offered by the world today, the false idols we are tempted to worship as did the prophets of Baal in the days of Elijah, but the light of the Holy Spirit instead.

In their false belief the prophets of Baal called on the name of their god to bring down fire on their sacrifice as they performed a hobbling dance around the altar raised to honour their idols.

But the fire never came. The fire of the Holy Spirit finds no home in those who worship false gods. But when Elijah called on God, his prayer was heard. His sacrifice, his offering, his faith and belief, was set on fire and consumed by the power of the Holy Spirit. 1 Kings 18 : 20-39

The Sacrifice set ablaze by love…

Jesus said to his disciples: “I have come to bring fire to the earth, and how I wish it were blazing already! Luke 12 : 49

Dear children! Also today I call all of you for your hearts to blaze with more ardent love for the Crucified, and do not forget that, out of love for you, he gave his life so that you may be saved. Little children, meditate and pray that your heart may be open to God’s love. Thank you for having responded to my call. November 25, 2007

Leave a Reply

