More Medjugorje Commission members named

Croatian sources are reporting 17 names that make up the Holy See international Commission set to study the Medjugorje phenomenon.

The Commission includes five cardinals: Jozef Tomko, Julian Herranze Casado, Vinko Puljic, Josip Bozanic and chaired by cardinal Camillo Ruini.

Secretary of the Commission is Achim Schültz assisted by Krysztof Nykiel.

Other names are David Maria Jaeger, Salvatore Perrelli, Pierangelo Sequeri, Josef Kijas, Tony Anatrella, Franjo Topic, Nela Veronica Gaspar, Mijo Nikic and Mihaly Szentmartoni.

Jozef cardinal TomkoSlovakia. President Emeritus of the Pontifical Committee for International Eucharistic Congresses. Former Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples
Julian cardinal Herranz CasadoSpain. President Emeritus of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts
Josip cardinal Bozanic – Croatia. Archbishop of Zagreb
Vinko cardinal Puljic Bosnia & Herzegovina. Archbishop of Vrhbosna (Sarajevo)
Archbishop Angelo AmatoItaly. Prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints
Fr David-Maria JaegerIsrael. A Franciscan priest, expert in canon law and a convert to Christianity.
Fr Salvatore PerrellaItaly. A Marianist priest and lecturer at the Pontifical faculty of Marian Theology.
Fr Pierangelo SequeriItaly. One of Italy’s most prominent theologians and appointed last year by Benedict XVI to serve on the International Theological Commission.
Fr Zdzislaw Josef KijasPoland. Another Franciscan and Secretary of the Pontifical Academy of Mary Immaculate in Rome.
Msgr Tony AnatrellaFrance. Psychologist and Mariologist, and a consultant to the Pontifical Council for the Family, and of the Pontifical Council for Health Care Ministry.
Msgr Franjo TopicCroatia. President of the Croatian Cultural Society ‘Progress’ in Sarajevo.
Fr Mijo NikicCroatia. Superior of the Jesuit Order in Zagreb and a professor of religious psychology.
Fr Mihaly SzentmartoniSerbia. Another Jesuit and a director of the Spirituality Institute at Rome’s Gregorian University. As a professor of clinical psychiatry he served on the medical committee of the previous Commission undertaken by the former Yugoslavia Bishops Conference. The medical committee of six concluded in 1988 that according to the criteria laid down by the CDF in 1978, the six ‘visionaries’ were considered mentally balanced and showed no inclination to psychotic disorder or hysteria, or other phenomenon of this kind.
Sr Nela Veronica GasparBosnia & Herzegovina. Theologian
Achim SchützGermany. Expert on religious phenomenon.
Msgr Krzysztof NykielPoland. Served on the Pontifical Council for Health Pastoral Care.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: