Commissioned by God…

I am reminded by all the recent chatter concerning a new Vatican commission set up to investigate Medjugorje that, in fact, it was God who commissioned Our Lady to come to us.

She is Our Lady of the Visitation. She carries the Word of God, the message of Eternal Life. She is Our Lady Full of Grace. She brings Peace. She is the Queen of Peace. She is the Mother of the Church who will not abandon her children in their hour of need. In unity with the Holy Spirit, she will fulfill her mission.

Dear children! I wish to keep on giving messages and therefore today I call you to live and accept my messages! Dear children, I love you and in a special way I have chosen this parish, one more dear to me than the others, in which I have gladly remained when the Almighty sent me. Therefore I call on you – accept me, dear children, that it might go well with you. Listen to my messages! Thank you for having responded to my call. Medjugorje message, March 21, 1985

Dear children! Today, like never before, I invite you to prayer. Let your prayer be a prayer for peace. Satan is strong and desires to destroy not only human life, but also nature and the planet on which you live. Therefore, dear children, pray that through prayer you can protect yourselves with God’s blessing of peace. God has sent me among you so that I may help you. If you so wish, grasp for the rosary. Even the rosary alone can work miracles in the world and in your lives. I bless you and I remain with you for as long as it is God’s will. Thank you for not betraying my presence here and I thank you because your response is serving the good and the peace. Medjugorje message, January 25, 1991

Dear children! Today I call you to love. Little children, without love you can neither live with God nor with brother. Therefore, I call all of you to open your hearts to the love of God that is so great and open to each one of you. God, out of love for man, has sent me among you to show you the path of salvation, the path of love. If you do not first love God, then you will neither be able to love neighbour nor the one you hate. Therefore, little children, pray and through prayer you will discover love. Thank you for having responded to my call. Medjugorje message, April 25, 1995

Dear children! Today the Lord permitted me to tell you again that you live in a time of grace. You are not conscious, little children, that God is giving you a great opportunity to convert and to live in peace and love. You are so blind and attached to earthly things and think of earthly life. God sent me to lead you toward eternal life. I, little children, am not tired, although I see that your hearts are heavy and tired for everything that is a grace and a gift. Thank you for having responded to my call. Medjugorje message, October 25, 2006

Dear children! God sent me among you out of love that I may lead you towards the way of salvation. Many of you opened your hearts and accepted my messages, but many have become lost on this way and have never come to know the God of love with the fullness of heart. Therefore, I call you to be love and light where there is darkness and sin. I am with you and bless you all. Thank you for having responded to my call. Medjugorje message, October 25, 2007

Dear children, I implore you, especially at this Lenten time, to respond to God’s goodness because he chose you and sent me among you. Be purified of sins and in Jesus, my Son, recognise the sacrifice of atonement for the sins of the entire world. May He be the meaning of your life. May your life become service to the Divine Love of my Son. Thank you my children. Medjugorje message, March 2, 2008

• In today’s Mass (Third Sunday of Lent) we read of how God commissions Moses when he speaks to him from the burning bush: “The cry of the sons of Israel has come to me, and I have witnessed the way in which the Egyptians oppress them, so come, I send you, to Pharaoh to bring the sons of Israel, my people, out of Egypt. Exodus 3 : 9-10

The burning bush has come to be seen as symbolic of the Virgin Mary, consumed by the fire of the Holy Spirit, whose virginity remained untouched. By grace she became the most fruitful and bore the most wonderful fruit of all, her Son and our Redeemer, Jesus.

She continues to bear fruit at Medjugorje.

Recently cardinal Schönborn made this comment about Medjugorje: “I’m saying distinctly there are fruits there – good fruits – or you could also say there can be no smoke without a fire and in Medjugorje there obviously is a fire.”

In Luke’s Gospel (12 : 49) Jesus said to his disciples: “I have come to bring fire to the earth, and how I wish it were blazing already!”

• In the early days of the apparitions a mysterious fire broke out on Podbrdo, at the site of Our Lady’s first apparition. In his book, The Apparitions of Our Lady at Medjugorje, Fr Svetozar Kraljevic gives an account of flames leaping on Mount Podbrdo of which Our Lady said: “The fire seen by the faithful was of a supernatural character.

Fr Svet wrote: On October 28, 1981, a fire of unknown origin erupted on the site of the first apparition and burned for about fifteen minutes. Several hundred people saw this,including many priests and nuns. A guard, who had been stationed at the foot of the hill to prevent pilgrims from climbing to the top, later investigated the site but found no remains of the fire. Indeed, the fire had burned brightly, but consumed nothing.

• The photograph used to illustrate this account was taken in darkness in June 2006 and shows the site of Our Lady’s first apparition on Podbrdo. The fire ‘effect’ surrounding the white statue is made up of multiple images of the statue during long exposure.

Do not wait until others bring you other messages that do not lead to life, but make yourselves missionaries of Christ for the brothers and sisters where you live, work, study or only pass your free time. Pope Benedict XVI, March 7, 2010

Leave a Reply

