“Believe… you must believe…”

Year for Priests June 19 2009 to June 19, 2010

Jesus summoned his twelve disciples, and gave them authority over unclean spirits with power to cast them out and to cure all kinds of diseases and sickness. Matthew 10 : 1

The outcome of this commission was that “the disciples cast out many devils, and anointed many sick people with oil and cured them.“ Mark 6 : 13

Should we be surprised at this, that through the authority of Jesus, acting in the person of Christ, our priests are capable of performing miracles? At every hour, every day, a miracle happens when the priest recites the words of Our Lord, “This is my Body… This is my Blood…” and through the power of the Holy Spirit the bread and wine is transformed into the body and blood of Christ.

We know also that our priests are commissioned and have the authority to forgive sins. So what prevents our priests from curing all kinds of sickness and diseases and casting out unclean spirits through the power of the Holy Spirit?

I always remember once attending a preaching and healing service given by the Franciscan priest Fr Jozo Zovko. I was fortunate to be seated next to many priests on the altar. When the time came for the priests to pray and lay hands on the people, Fr Jozo first went to each priest and prayed over them. Then he gathered the priests in a huddle and repeatedly said to them: “Believe… you must believe!”

I got the impression that there may have been doubt among some of the priests as to the healing power of God working through them and that is why Fr Jozo stressed that they must believe, and have faith.

Dear children, Today, with my motherly heart, I call you gathered around me to love your neighbour. My children, stop. Look in the eyes of your brother and see Jesus, my Son. If you see joy, rejoice with him. If there is pain in the eyes of your brother, with your tenderness and goodness, cast it away, because without love you are lost. Only love is effective; it works miracles. Love will give you unity in my Son and the victory of my heart. Therefore, my children, love. September 2, 2008

Leave a Reply

