My house will be called a house of prayer…

Just before the Jewish Passover Jesus went up to Jerusalem, and in the Temple he found people selling cattle and sheep and pigeons, and the money changers sitting at their counters there. Making a whip out of some cord, he drove them all out of the Temple, cattle and sheep as well, scattered the money changers’ coins, knocked their tables over and said to the pigeon-sellers. “Take all of this out of here and stop turning my Father’s house into a market.” John 2 : 13-16

Little children, at all times fill your heart with even the smallest prayers. part message, February 25, 1989

Dear children, you are forgetting that I desire sacrifices from you so I can help you and drive Satan away from you. Therefore, I am calling you again to offer sacrifices with a special reverence toward God. Thank you for having responded to my call. part message, September 18, 1986

• Inside the temple of my own heart do I sell and buy? Do I offer coin in exchange for sacrifice? Do I buy the love of others and let others purchase mine? Do I fill my heart with all that commerce has to offer but leave little room for prayer? Do I invite Jesus into my heart and ask him to drive out those who steal from me, those who trade in false promises of hope and happiness, but only want to take away my joy and peace and desecrate my temple? Is the temple of my heart truly a house of prayer – or a robbers’ den?

Leave a Reply

