Teach your children well…

To teach and to be taught requires time to be set aside.

We first get a glimpse of this reality when Jesus took time out from his family to sit in the Temple among the doctors, listening to them and asking them questions. They were astounded at his intelligence and his replies. Luke 2 : 46-47

Later in life, Jesus too becomes a teacher, travelling and making known to the people what is required to enter the kingdom of God. He also enrolls his disciples in a very special school of learning.

St Luke’s Gospel tells us that Jesus was about thirty years old when he started to teach. He taught with authority in many places and in the synagogues, and everyone praised him.

Similarly, Our Lady has for the past 27 years set time aside to teach her dear children how to make progress on the way to holiness and what is required to enter the kingdom of God. The place she has arrived to teach us in this special way is Medjugorje.

Many of her children around the world eagerly look forward to the Blessed Mother’s message each month hoping they will will learn something new to help them in their daily lives. Quite often the message is familiar, even repetitive, but we all understand the reason why this has to be so. Repetition and recollection are essential building bricks in learning and understanding.

Our Lady also makes it very clear in her messages that she is here to teach us. She is, after all, known as the Seat of Wisdom. Fr Slavko used to say that Our Lady invites all of us to enroll in her School of Love, and that we should approach her with a desire to be taught and to live the lessons she teaches.

Just so that we are absolutely clear on Our Lady’s teaching role, the Mother who also taught Jesus, here are some reminders from her messages.

• I am your Mother and I have come on earth to teach you to listen out of love… • I desire to teach you to pray…
• I have remained a long time so I might teach you how to make progress on the way of holiness…
• I am with you and I wish to teach you to pray with the heart…
• I desire to teach you and help you to walk the way of holiness…

• I love you and that is why I am with you, in order to teach you and to lead you to a new life of conversion and renunciation…

• I rejoice today because the Most High has granted me to be with you and to teach you and to guide you on the path of perfection…

• I am with you to teach you and to bring you closer to the love of God…

• I will be with you and will teach you how to put Jesus in the first place. I will teach you to love Him and to belong to Him completely…

• My children, I desire to teach you to love…

• With my love I will teach you simplicity of life and richness of mercy and I will lead you to my Son…

Our Lady also requests that we become teachers in our own families and parishes…

• Little children, place the Sacred Scripture in a visible place in your family, and read and live it. Teach your children, because if you are not an example to them, children depart into godlessness…
• I call all priests and religious brothers and sisters to pray the rosary and to teach others to pray…

Leave a Reply

