Listening at the feet of Jesus and Mary

It can be very difficult to teach a person if they refuse to listen – stubborness can close not only ears but also hearts.

Jesus commands us to listen to him, just as he does of the people he meets in the Gospels. His authority to command people to listen to him is given by his Father in heaven, “This is my Son, the Chosen One. Listen to him.” (Luke 9 : 35)

He asks us to listen so that we may be taught. “Listen and understand.” (Matthew 15 : 10)

Jesus often teaches in ways that are difficult for some to understand, but he insists, “Listen to another parable.” (Matthew 21 : 33)

Another time he says, “Listen to me, all of you, and understand.” (Mark 7 :14)

And many did listen and come to understand the word of God.
(Luke 5 : 1-11)

Jesus also says, “Take care how you hear.” (Luke 8 : 18). Just listening is not enough. How we listen is important in our understanding of teaching.

And then there is the wonderful story of Mary sitting at the feet of Jesus and listening to him speak, much to the dismay of her sister Martha who is overworked in the kitchen. Jesus reminds Martha that Mary has chosen the better part. He stresses the importance of listening and learning. (Luke 10 : 38-42)

When he tells the story of the rich man and Lazarus, Jesus also outlines the consequences of what can happen when we refuse to listen. (Luke 16 : 19-31)

John’s Gospel (3 : 29) speaks of the joy the friend of the bridegroom receives when he listens: “The bride is only for the bridegroom; and yet the bridegroom’s friend, who stands there and listens, is glad when he hears the bridegrooms voice.”

In the same Gospel (John 6 : 45), Jesus says, “It is written in the prophets; They will all be taught by God, and to hear the teaching of the Father and learn from it, is to come to me.”

Finally, Jesus crystalizes his command to listen with these words: “The sheep that belong to me listen to my voice; I know them and they follow.” (John 10 : 27)

Like her Son, Our Lady often entreats us to listen to what she is saying in her messages.

• I am your Mother and I have come on earth to teach you to listen out of love…
• I want you, dear children, to listen to me and to live my messages…

• Listen to my messages!

• I desire to lead you, but you do not wish to listen to my messages…
• Today I am calling you to listen to the messages and then you will be able to live everything which God tells me to convey to you…

• Dear children, listen to and live my messages. I wish to guide you…

• I beseech you, listen to my messages and live them, so I can guide you…

• I call you, little children, to listen to me and to live the messages that I am giving you…

• Dear little children, listen and live what I tell you because it is important for you when I shall not be with you any longer that you remember my words and all that I told you…

• Listen, because I wish to speak to you and to invite you to have more faith and trust in God, who loves you immeasurably…

• May your heart be prepared to listen to, and live, everything which the Holy Spirit has in His plan for each of you…

• Listen to my messages with the heart…

• Listen to me and permit me to lead you to this in a motherly way…

The first duty of love is to listen.Paul Tillich

Leave a Reply

